The International Council
for Philosophy and Human Sciences


Published with the support of UNESCO, Diogenes provides a forum for discussion in all areas of philosophy and humanistic studies. The journal was established in the belief that the exchange of ideas among a wide variety of disciplines would not only enrich the separate fields of study but also reveal new perspectives and possibilities for cross-fertilization. It fulfils an international mandate, with editions in English, French, Chinese and Arabic.

As well as being of interest to specialists wishing to keep abreast of developments in other areas of study, Diogenes is also a valuable resource for members of the general public with an interest in the contemporary cultural climate.

Aims and Scope:

Founded by Roger Caillois in 1952, Diogenes is a peer-reviewed scholarly journal published under the auspices of the International Council for Philosophy and Human Sciences. From the outset it was conceived of as a widely international and transdisciplinary journal. It represents a reference publication for scholars working in the humanities at large. Diogenes publishes work from all fields of philosophical, humanistic and social studies, from archaeology to education and from economics to sociology.

Diogenes is published four times a year, initially in French, with the English-language edition appearing the following year. For more details on how to publish in Diogenes, please contact the Editors at or consult the homepage of the journal.

Electronic Access:
Diogenes is available electronically on SAGE Journals Online at


Current Editors


Maurice Aymard

Ecole des Hautes Etudes en Sciences Sociales, Paris, France

Luca Maria Scarantino

CIPSH/ICPHS, Paris, France



Former editors


Roger Caillois


Jean d'Ormesson


Paola Costa Giovangigli  




Editorial Board


Jean Bingen

Royal Academy of Belgium 

 Madeline H. Caviness, FSA

Tufts University

In-Suk Cha 

Seoul National University

Thierry Dufrêne

National Institute of History of Art, Paris

 Paulin J. Hountondji         

National University of Benin

Adama Samassekou

African Academy of Languages, Bamako

David A. Wells

Birkbeck College, London



Editorial Assistance


Catherine Champniers

Institut International de Philosophie, Paris





Colin Anderson


Claire Avellan

Buenos Aires 

Jean Burrell           


Kristina Cordero

New York 

Thierry Loisel 


Alessandra Parrini 


Isabelle Puderbeutel 

Tel Aviv 

Peter Pulborough 




Advisory Board


An Jiayao 

Inst. of Archaeology, Cass, Beijing

Jean-Godefroy Bidima

Tulane University

Tanella Boni            

University of Abidjan

Yves Coppens     

Collège de France, Paris

Souleymane Bachir Diagne

Columbia University

Doudou Diène 

UN University

Jaakko Hintikka       

Boston University

Paulin J. Hountondji 

National University of Benin 

Julio Labastida     

UNAM, Mexico

Abdallah Laroui     

Royal Academy of Morocco 

Antonio Marazzi 

University of Padua

Ivana Markova          

Stirling University

Fatma Oussedik     

University of Alger

Ornella Pompeo Faracovi

Center "F. Enriques" for the History of Science

Eduardo Portella

Academia Brasileira de Letras

Stanley Rosen

Boston University

Jean Starobinski  

University of Geneva

Romila Thapar 

Jawaharlal Nehru University

Shizuteru Ueda      

Kyoto University